• Kristina Barclay

OA News (You Could Use) June 3, 2021

Here are some of the latest happenings in the world of ocean acidification in Canada and beyond!


New on the Blog


Scientist Spotlight:


Samantha Jones – Blending Science and Poetry


Samantha Jones is a Ph.D. Candidate in the Department of Geography at the University of Calgary studying carbon cycling in the Canadian Arctic. In addition to her scientific work, Samantha is also a poet, published writer, and workshop instructor at the Alexandra Writers' Centre Society in Calgary. Samantha recently wrote a poem suite, "Ocean Acidification" (published in Watch Your Head, March 2021) that uses visual poetry to educate and help people form a connection with ocean acidification. Samantha shares with us her creative process, scientific background, and her interests in combining science and poetry.


Read the full post here.


Upcoming OA Events for World Oceans Week – June 7 – 11th


Ocean Week Canada

Please check out their website and Twitter accounts for more details on events happening across Canada next week!


World Oceans Day - June 8th (3 pm EDT)

Register and find more info here:

Implementing UN SDG 14.3: Protecting Communities and Livelihoods from the Threat of a Changing Ocean (Co-Hosted by OA Alliance and The Ocean Foundation)


World Oceans Day 2021, UNWorldOceansDay.org, Implementing UN SDG 14.3 Protecting Communities and Livelihoods from the Threat of a Changing Ocean, Date: Tuesday, June 8, 2021, Time: 12 pm PST, 3 pm EST, 4 pm in Argentina, 9 pm in Monaco, 10 pm in Lebanon, 7 am in Wellington on June 9, Co-hosted by: The OA Alliance and The Ocean Foundation

June 10th (4 pm EDT)

Register and find more info here:

Advancing Climate and Ocean Action Through Art, Education and Outreach (Co-Hosted by OA Alliance and Peace Boat US)


World Oceans Day 2021, UNWorldOceansDay.org, Advancing Climate and Ocean Action Through Art, Education, and Outreach, Date: Thursday, June 10, 2021, Time: 1 pm PST, 4 pm EST, 9 pm in Portugal, 9 am in Apia on June 11, Co-hosted by: The OA Alliance, and Peace Boat US

There are so many more events happening across the country and beyond!


MSc Opportunity in Ocean Acidification (OA) Research


DFO is looking for an MSc candidate to join their multi-disciplinary research team to examine multi-stressor impacts on juvenile shellfish. More specifically, the project will involve the following objectives:


1. Investigate impacts of coinciding climate stressors (e.g. OA, warming) on biological (e.g. growth), physiological (e.g. energetics), and genomic (e.g. gene expression) responses of juvenile shellfish.


2. Compare responses under static and variable stressor conditions to determine whether long-term exposure or acute exposure events (e.g. upwelling events, heatwaves) pose a greater threat to species’ fitness and survival.


3. Investigate whether co-culture of shellfish with macroalgae or sea cucumbers can mitigate climate change impacts and improve resiliency of the aquaculture industry.


The preferred candidate would have:

· Experience/knowledge in wet lab plumbing and tank set up.

· Experience/knowledge in conducting research on marine invertebrates.

· Experience/knowledge in ocean acidification or climate change research.

· Desire to work in a multidisciplinary team.

· Ability to work independently.

· A strong undergraduate track record, including an honour’s degree.

· Good problem-solving skills and resourcefulness.

· A positive attitude and strong work ethic.


The position would start Aug/Sep 2021. The candidate would be based at Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Pacific Biological Station in Nanaimo, but the MSc degree would be through the University of Victoria. Interested applicants should send an expression of interest letter, recent CV, and undergraduate transcripts to:


Dr. Chris Pearce, Chris.Pearce@dfo-mpo.gc.ca by June 15, 2021.


Webinar Today – Final webinar in NECAN Early Career Scientist series


Controls on Buffering and Coastal Acidification in a New England Estuary Thursday June 3, 2021 at 1:00 PM ET Register here.


New Paper of Interest

Siedlecki, SA, J Salisbury, DK Gledhill, C Bastidas, S Meseck, K McGarry, CW Hunt, M Alexander, D Lavoie, ZA Wang, J Scott, DC Brady, I Mlsna, K Azetsu-Scott, CM Liberti, DC Melrose, MM White, A Pershing, D Vandemark, DW Townsend, C Chen, W Mook, and R Morrison. 2021. Projecting ocean acidification impacts for the Gulf of Maine to 2050: New tools and expectations. Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene, 9:00062.

https://doi.org/10.1525/elementa.2020.00062

Have a news item you'd like us to feature? Email coordinator@oceanacidification.ca!

Recent Posts

See All